Montevallo High School FTA Members Elected to State Office

Established by the National Education Association, the Future Teachers of America organization encourages high school students to pursue careers in education. Delegates from Montevallo High School’s Future Teachers of America recently attended the organization’s annual state conference held in Florence, Alabama. 

Several members of the MHS delegation were chosen to serve in state leadership positions for the coming year. Dylan Sanders was selected as FTA State 2nd Vice President. Jessie Harbuck and Claire Gray will serve as State Executive Board Members this year.  Their duties will include visits to Montgomery to meet with Senators and Representatives, as well as participating in the planning for next year’s state conference.

Additionally, Student of the Year and Advisor of the Year accolades were announced for the state. Montevallo High School student, Emily Colley, received the honor of Outstanding Future Teacher of Alabama Student of the Year. Montevallo High School teacher and FTA sponsor, Dawn Cabrera, was selected as Outstanding FTA State Advisor. 


Be the first to comment on "Montevallo High School FTA Members Elected to State Office"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.