Education Support Professionals of the Year Awards Scheduled for May 5

The Shelby County School District will honor all of the individuals who were named 2015-2016 Education Support Professionals of the Year for their local schools or district departments on May 5 at the Central Office in Columbiana.  A reception will be held at 4:00 p.m. with a recognition ceremony to follow at 4:30 p.m.

Honorees will include the overall winners from several job classification categories and one overall district-wide winner for Education Support Professionals of the Year.  The winners were nominated and elected by their co-workers from their local schools or departments. The winners each submitted essays detailing why they love their jobs, along with a letter of support from their principal or department supervisor to be considered for the overall category awards.  A judging committee selected the category winners, along with an overall winner who will be named during the recognition ceremony on May 5.

The category winners are:

  • Cathy Henry, Bookkeeper, Oak Mountain Intermediate – Accounting
  • Jay Hooten, Custodian, Oak Mountain Middle – Custodial
  • Marquetta Platt,  Child Nutrition Program Manager, Shelby Elementary – Food Service
  • Tina Littlefield, Instructional Aide, Vincent Middle/High – Instructional
  • Robert Smelcer, maintenance technician, Oak Mountain Elementary – Maintenance
  • Claudia Banuelos, district translator and parent liaison for ESL – Shelby County Instructional Services Center – Secretarial
  • Susan Price, bus driver, Columbiana Middle – Transportation

The other individuals who will be honored as local school or department winners are (by category):

Accounting: Laura Chambless, bookkeeper, Chelsea Middle; and Misty Lewter, bookkeeper, Wilsonville Elementary.

Custodial:  Jim Clark, custodian, Calera Middle; Tony Kelley, custodian, Chelsea High; Alfred Hunt, custodian, Chelsea Park Elementary; Ray Lewis, custodian, Helena Elementary; Lynn Falkner, custodian, Mt Laurel Elementary; Bob Stricklin, custodian, Montevallo High; and Barbara Edwards, custodian, Shelby County High.

Food Service:  Brenda Garner, CNP manager, Helena Intermediate

Instructional:  Judy Mooney, special education paraeducator, Calera Elementary School; Jennifer Miller, instructional aide, Calera Intermediate School; Sabrina Harris, paraprofessional, Calera High School; Melissa Nolen, nurse, Elvin Hill Elementary;  Stephanie Brown, instructional aide, Helena Middle; Julia Thomason, instructional aide, Inverness Elementary School; Maura Gallo, instructional aide, Linda Nolen Learning Center;  and Holly Hoyle, computer lab aide, Vincent Elementary School.

Maintenance: Jeff Elliott, maintenance technician/plumber, Maintenance Department.

Secretarial:  Kristy Densmore, secretary, Central Office (Human Resources); Candy Falkner, secretary, Forest Oaks Elementary; Kelley Emerson, registrar, Helena High School; April Mixon, secretary, Montevallo Elementary; Cheryl Snyder, secretary, Montevallo Middle; Kay Hurley, secretary, Oak Mountain High; and Tonya Vick, secretary, Shelby County College and Career Center.

Transportation: Joel Stagner, master mechanic, Maintenance Department.

1 Comment on "Education Support Professionals of the Year Awards Scheduled for May 5"


Leave a Reply to Max Newton Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published.