Brooks and Warner Recognized with State Awards

Shelby County Schools Logo

Dr. Lewis Brooks, Assistant Superintendent of Pupil Services and Administration, and Cindy Warner, Supervisor of Public Relations and Community Education, were recently recognized with state awards.

Ā Lewis Brooks award photoDr. Brooks was recognized as this year’s recipient of the Dr. Sue B. Adams Leadership Award at the annual Alabama Association of Prevention, Attendance and Support Services (AAPASS) spring conference.Ā Ā Dr. Adams was long remembered for the role she held in the ALSDE’s Prevention and Support Department and was considered a pioneer in the areas of student safety, attendance and discipline, dropout prevention, and working with at-risk students.

At the award ceremony, Dr. Brooks was recognized for his leadership and efforts in developing and implementing the Shelby County Safe Schools Initiative to enhanceĀ school safety in Shelby County schools and for increasing parent involvement with at-risk students.

Cindy Warner Award Photo

Warner was recognized with the Nez Calhoun Distinguished Service Award at the Alabama School Public Relations Association (ALSPRA) annual state conference.Ā  The award is named in honor of Nez Calhoun, who recently retired after serving more than 40 years as the Public Information Officer for the Jefferson County Board of Education.Ā  It honorsĀ an ALSPRA member for his or her commitment and dedication to the organizationĀ and to the school public relations profession. Typically, this member has gone above and beyond the call to support ALSPRA and its members.

Be the first to comment on "Brooks and Warner Recognized with State Awards"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.