Dr. Lewis Brooks Honored as an NSPRA Superintendents to Watch for 2020

Superintendents to Watch photo

Shelby County Superintendent, Dr. Lewis Brooks was recently honored as one of the National School Public Relations Association’s 2020 Superintendent’s to Watch. Dr. Brooks is among 24 district leaders with fewer than five years of experience as a superintendent who demonstrate dynamic, fast-paced leadership with strong communication at its core.

These superintendents are specifically recognized for their use of communication technology in innovative and effective ways. They engage and inform their school communities with new communication technology tools combined with tried-and-true techniques.

Lewis Brooks Headshot 2020

Dr. Brooks was nominated for his leadership in adding a new digital media specialist position to the district’s public relations department, as well as his effective communication practices throughout the COVID-19 pandemic.

In a letter of support that accompanied the award nomination, Tuscaloosa County Schools Superintendent Keri Johnson noted that Dr. Brooks is an outstanding leader with many qualities that made him an excellent candidate for the award.

“As a former employee, colleague, and parent of a student in the Shelby County Schools district, it is an honor to recommend Dr.  Brooks for this award,” Dr. Johnson wrote.

“Dr. Brooks communicates in a calm, efficient manner with employees and parents alike. During the recent school closures due to COVID-19, parents, students, and staff in his district were kept well informed in a timely manner,” Dr. Johnson continued. “As a new superintendent, I look to him as an example of how to communicate effectively in a time of crisis. I am proud to have him as a mentor, and I know I can call on him for help at any time. He is a shining example of what a  superintendent should be with excellent character and a servant attitude.”  

During a recent Board of Education meeting, Dr. Brooks announced his selection by NSPRA for the honor, but credited the district’s staff with helping him earn the distinction.

“It was a great honor, but it is a testament to our team,” Dr. Brooks said. “I certainly give everyone that is involved with what we’re doing as a school district credit.”

The NSPRA 2020 Superintendents to Watch List of Honorees

  • Dr. Kimberly Berman, Mill Valley (Calif.) School District 
  • Dr. Lewis Brooks, Shelby County Schools, Columbiana, Ala.  
  • Dr. C. Todd Cummings, South Bend (Ind.) Community Schools Corporation  
  • Dr. Laurie Dent, Sumner-Bonney Lake School District, Sumner, Wash.
  • Dr. Robert Downs, Buford (Ga.) City Schools
  • Dr. Russell Dyer, Cleveland (Tenn.) City Schools  
  • Dr. Christopher Fuzessy, Foothills School Division, Alberta, Canada
  • Dr. Tawana Grover, Grand Island (Neb.) Pubic Schools  
  • Jodie Hausmann, Bay Village (Ohio) City School District
  • A. Russell Hughes, Walton County School District, DeFuniak Spring, Fla.
  • Dr. Brad Hunt, Coppell (Texas) Independent School System 
  • Dr. Bryan Johnson, Hamilton County Schools, Chattanooga, Tenn. 
  • Dr. Anthony Lewis, Lawrence (Kan.) Public Schools
  • Dr. Demetrus Liggins, Greenville (Texas) Independent School System
  • Dr. David Mauricio, Peekskill City (N.Y.) School District
  • Dr. Jenny McGown, Klein (Texas) Independent School District
  • Dr. Matthew Mingle, Warren Township (N.J.) Schools
  • Dr. Martin Pollio, Jefferson County Public Schools, Louisville, Ky.
  • Dr. Ian Saltzman, Everett (Wash.) Public Schools
  • Ted Stec, Lombard (Ill.) School District 44
  • Michael Vuckovich, Indiana Area (Pa.) School District
  • Tracy Wheeler, Berea (Ohio) City School District
  • Dr. Jim Wipke, Ladue School District, St. Louis, Mo.
  • Dr. Robert Zywicki, Mount Olive Township School District, Flanders , N.J.

Be the first to comment on "Dr. Lewis Brooks Honored as an NSPRA Superintendents to Watch for 2020"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.