2020-2021 Educational Support Personnel of the Year Honored by Board of Education

The 2020-2021 Educational Support Personnel winners honored by the Shelby County Board of Education at their May 20 board meeting were praised for helping the school district overcome one of the most challenging school years on record due to the COVID-19 global pandemic.

β€œThe 2020-2021 school year has certainly been a year full of challenges, but also a year full of opportunities to serve our students,” said Dr. Lewis Brooks, Superintendent of Education. “Tonight we honor support personnel winners from various job categories who have all risen to the occasion so that our students could have as normal a school year as possible.” Β 

As part of the recognition, the district shared a video that highlights each of the Support Personnel category winners.

Beth Stone, RN, school nurse at Oak Mountain Middle was named the 2020-2021 Overall Educational Support Personnel of the Year.

Beth Stone, the school nurse for Oak Mountain Middle School, was honored as the Overall Winner for Educational Support Personnel of the Year. She was also the category winner for the Nursing Services job category.

The district also honored category winners which included the following:

Misty Lewter β€“ Bookkeeper, Wilsonville Elementary –  Accounting Category

Samantha Bailey β€“ Child Nutrition Program Manger, Calera Elementary

Bradley Rhodes – Custodian – Calera Elementary School  β€“ Food Services Category

Brad Manley– Instructional Aide, Linda Nolen Learning Center – Instructional Category

Walter Rowser – Maintenance Technician, Inverness Elementary – Maintenance Category

Chris Wilson– Bus Driver, Calera Intermediate – Transportation Category

Tonya Vick β€“ Secretary, Career Technical Educational Center – Secretarial

Dr. Brooks recently visited the local schools to honor the other 2020-2021 winners, which included:

tabitha bailey photo

Food Services: Tabitha Vinson – CNP Manager, Montevallo Middle School

Custodial: Patricia Bailey – custodian, Montevallo Elementary; Ron Steadman – custodian, Shelby County Instructional Services Center; Heather Smith – custodian, Vincent Elementary

Instructional:  Kendra Lawley – paraprofessional, Shelby County High School; Yadlin Zamora – bilingual aide, Calera High; Katelin Lucas – Calera Middle; Connie McDonald- paraprofessional, Calera Intermediate; Tracy Williams – Paraprofessional, Helena Intermediate; Cassey Abbott – paraprofessional, Helena Elementary; Kathleen Lontine – paraprofessional, Mt Laurel Elementary.

Nursing Services: Sarah Thomas – school nurse, Montevallo High; Darlene Davis – school nurse, Chelsea Middle; Cindy Allen – school nurse, Chelsea High; Heather Long – school nurse, Chelsea Park Elementary; Lori Goodson – school nurse, Helena Intermediate; Adrienne Vanderford – school nurse, Helena Middle; Meagan Howard – school nurse, Elvin Hill Elementary; Kellie Kelley – school nurse, Helena High; Sara Arner – school nurse, Oak Mountain Elementary; Tonya Bright – school nurse, Oak Mountain Intermediate; Hannah Harris – school nurse, Shelby Elementary and Tracy Watson – school nurse, Forest Oaks Elementary

Secretarial: Lindsay Brand – secretary, Central Office; Michelle Fry – secretary, New Direction

Be the first to comment on "2020-2021 Educational Support Personnel of the Year Honored by Board of Education"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.