The Jim Harrell Poetry Prize Scholarship-UM

The Jim Harrell Poetry Prize for entering first-year students at the University of Montevallo.
This vibrant program has awarded thousands of dollars in scholarships to student poets since its establishment more than a decade ago.  Through the generosity of James N. Harrell, we can offer a $2000 scholarship for the contest-winning poem, and a $1000 scholarship for second place.  We established the contest and the scholarships expressly with entering freshmen in mind, as an encouragement to pursue poetry at the college level.  And we know that both the recognition and the funding can make a huge difference in getting the good start at college that every entering student needs.
A PDF with the application information is attached.  For more information, please contact Jim Murphy, Professor of English, at or 205-665-6431.

The P.I.N.K. Legacy Foundation Scholarship

The P.I.N.K. Legacy Foundation is pleased to announce that we have two(2) $1000 scholarship opportunities. Please see the attached scholarship packet and distribute to qualifying 2023 graduates. The deadline for entry is Friday, April 14, 2023.

If there are any questions or concerns, please contact Zelda Paul-Stewart at 205-527-5868. 

Best regards,

Zelda Paul-Stewart

Scholarship Committee

P.I.N.K. Legacy Foundation

Lhoist North America Community Scholarship

Lhoist North America would like the opportunity to support the community by offering a one-time award scholarship to graduating high school seniors.

The Lhoist North America Community Scholarship is available to students in the 2023 graduating class.  Annually, a community award will be granted to the student most deserving based on financial need, demonstrated moral integrity, involvement in community activities and work ethics with a clearly articulated career goal.

The scholarship application and guidelines are attached below. 

A committee of Lhoist North America employees in our local community will select the community award recipient. Applications must be received in our local office no later than March 31, 2023.  Please instruct your students to mail or email their applications and supporting documents to my attention at the address below.

Emily Kelley
Sr. HR Manager
East Lime Region

Lhoist North America
3309 Hwy. 31
Calera, AL 35040

Ora L. Jones Memorial Scholarship

Ora L. Jones Memorial Scholarship

1.Must have an acceptance letter to either a 2 yr. or 4 yr. college or university.
2.Must have at least a 2.75 cumulative GPA on a 4.0 scale.
3.Must submit a 1000 word essay which depicts the importance of the scholarship and describe how they will use their education to give back to the community.
4.Must provide a cover letter with the following: 
a. Full name
b. Address, phone number, email, and name of high school you will graduate from
c. A brief biography about yourself

Deadline for entry: Friday, April 21, 2023
Scholarships awarded: $1,000 each 
Applications documents must be uploaded as PDF documents to the Ora L. Jones Foundation email at

See attached information sheet.

2023 Executive Women International Scholarship Program (EWISP)

The 2023 Executive Women International Scholarship Program (EWISP) is for any eligible high school senior whose career plan includes a postsecondary education at a university, college, trade, or vocational school; however, only one student per high school may apply. 

Since the application is fairly lengthy, applicants should strive to complete it in a timely fashion.  We will rely on you or the sponsoring teacher to help drive this process.  It is important that instructions are followed, and all required fields are completed to prevent disqualification.  Below is the link for the application process.  The application closes March 24, 2023, 11:59 PM ET.

Eligible entries will be judged and the finalists, two family members, and sponsoring teacher or guidance counselor will be notified and invited to attend the EWISP Awards Banquet on the evening of May 9, 2023, location to be announced.

The Regions Riding Forward Scholarship

The Regions Riding Forward Scholarship contest is an essay contest that highlights inspirational Black Americans who have shaped our world. Winners can earn scholarships worth $1,750 – $2,500.

Students are asked to submit written or video essays regarding someone who has impacted their life, whether it is a famous icon or a local mentor or hero. High school and college winners will be selected from each of the 15 states served by Regions branches.

Details about the contest can be found in the below links and on the attached flyer. I’d love to ask your help in spreading the word about this awesome opportunity with any organizations or schools you might be affiliated with. Since the inception of the Regions Riding Forward Scholarship Contest in 2012, Regions has awarded over a million dollars to more than 300 students.

More details about the 2023 Regions Riding Forward Scholarship Contest:

  • Each applicant must submit a 500-word (or less) written essay or a 3-minute (or less) video essay that addresses how a Black American individual has been an inspiration in the applicant’s life, and that discusses the contributions of that Black American individual.
  • Applications must be submitted by March 31, 2023.
  • Scholarships will include a total of 15 awards of $2,500 each for high school winners, and 15 awards of $1,750 each for winners who are currently enrolled as college students.
  • High school seniors and college freshmen, sophomores and juniors who live in (or who are currently enrolled in accredited colleges in) the 15 states that have Regions Bank full-service branches may apply.
  • An independent selection committee will judge the written essay and video essay submissions and select the winners.

Additional information, winning essays from the 2022 contest, eligibility details, official rules and an online contest application can be found at